Sunshine for the soul

I truly believe that nature is a cure-all. Sometimes all it takes is getting outside for a quick walk and you instantly feel your mood improve. One thing I must say from eating more throughout the day, is that I’m feeling more of a desire, and have more energy to want to get outside and be active. Today the sun was shining and it was a gorgeous morning so I made the decision to go on a hike up one of the mountains by my apartment. The mountain was packed with people! I couldn’t believe it. I was honestly astounded by the amount of smiling faces I saw. Everyone just looked so… serene. I get so wrapped up in my own head, that sometimes I forget that I’m not the only one trying to get by in life. There’s so many people with so many different stories and backgrounds. A bit of a weird thought I guess haha, but something I thought about as I saw all the different faces. After so much isolation this past year, I’d almost forgotten how nice it is to just be surrounded by people.  I’m proud of myself for getting out, without having to have someone push me to do it.

BeFunky_image3.jpg

Afterwards I came home and I could feel that I was really hungry. In fact, I slowly think that I’m starting to regain a sense of my hunger cues. I made myself a big bowl of sweet potato & lentil soup and took the time to sit and enjoy. Seems like nothing special, but the idea of sitting and doing nothing but eating is such a novelty to me. I’m so used to eating in secret, while being distracted by the TV or the computer. It’s insane how much better the food tastes when you really focus your attention on it, and how you feel eating it.

image4This is a great and easy recipe by the way. One that I will be posting eventually once I get the recipes component of this blog up and running 🙂

Tonight I am going to dinner at my aunt’s. Another thing I would’ve avoided in the past.. but something I’m forcing myself to do tonight. Weirdly enough, I’m actually looking forward to it.

Get out and get some sun today!

xx Liv

“Sometimes you need to step outside, get some air, and remind yourself of who you are and where you want to be.”

Leave a Reply

